186 nominations filed for Delhi’s seven Lok Sabha seats | India News

NEW DELHI: A total of 186 nominations have been received by the Chief Electoral Office in Delhi for all seven Parliamentary Constituencies of Delhi.
According to an official release from the CEO’s office in Delhi, it said that there will be no nominations accepted on May 5, due to Sunday.
“However, the nominations process will resume on Monday, marking the final day for candidates to submit their nominations,” it said.
The date for scrutiny of nomination is May, 7, and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is May, 9, as per the Gazette Notification.
The polling in Delhi will be conducted on May, 25 in the sixth phase of the ongoing Lok Sabha election.
Notably, each candidate contesting in the upcoming Lok Sabha Election is permitted a maximum of three vehicles during the process of filing nominations.
Furthermore, only a maximum of five individuals, including the candidates themselves, are permitted inside the Returning Officer’s office during the nomination filing procedure.
Meanwhile, the Election Commission of India has invited 75 international visitors from election management bodies (EMBs) of 23 countries to watch the world’s largest elections unfold.
The poll commission said that this exercise is a first in terms of scale and magnitude of participation.
The invited delegates represent various EMBs and organisations from 23 countries namely – Bhutan, Mongolia, Australia, Madagascar, Fiji, Kyrgyz Republic, Russia, Moldova, Tunisia, Seychelles, Cambodia, Nepal, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, Bangladesh, Kazakhstan, Georgia, Chile, Uzbekistan, Maldives, Papua New Guinea and Namibia.
Along with these 23 nations, members from the International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES), and media teams from Bhutan and Israel will also participate.
Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar, Election Commissioner Gyanesh Kumar and Dr Sukhbir Singh Sandhu will address the delegates on May 5.
Thereafter, the delegates will embark in small groups to observe polls and related preparedness in various constituencies in six states–Maharashtra, Goa, Gujarat, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, and Uttar Pradesh.
The programme will conclude on May 9.
The ongoing Lok Sabha elections that began on April 19 and are being conducted in seven phases will conclude on June 1 with the counting of votes scheduled for June 4.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *